Punjab Election 2022 Highlights: Polling held peacefully across the state; Congress, AAP claim advantage - The Economic Times

Voting has ended in the 117 seats in Punjab. It's a multi-cornered contest with the Congress, AAP, SAD-BSP alliance and BJP-PLC alliance as key players. Polling began at 8 am and ended at 6pm. Votes will be counted on March 10.More than 2.14 crore voters of the state will decide the fate of 1304 candidates in the fray from 117 constituencies. The ruling Congress party is seeking another term under Charanjit Singh Channi's leadership while the SAD which has formed an alliance with Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is hoping for a comeback after 10 years. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) which emerged as the second-largest party in the 2017 elections has highlighted its government's works in Delhi to urge voters for a chance in Punjab under Bhagwant Mann.CM Charanjit Singh Channi, who is the Congress's chief ministerial face, is contesting from two seats Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur. Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu is facing SAD's Bikram Singh Majithia, AAP's Jeevanjyot Kaur and BJP's Jagmohan Singh Raju in Amritsar (East).AAP Lok Sabha MP from Sangrur and party's CM face Bhagwant Mann is contesting from Dhuri seat. Punjab Lok Congress chief Captain Amarinder Singh is seeking re-election from the Patiala constituency. Five-time Chief Minister and senior Shiromani Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal is in the fray from the Lambi seat while SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal is in the electoral contest from Jalalabad.The BJP has pitted its Punjab unit chief Ashwani Kumar Sharma from the Pathankot constituency. 2,14,99,804 voters in Punjab are eligible to exercise their franchise on Sunday. He said that there are 1304 candidates--1209 male, 93 women and two transgenders are in the fray in 117 constituencies. A total of 1,304 candidates-- 231 are from national parties, 250 from state parties, 362 from unrecognised Parties, and 461 are Independent candidates.

via Economictimes

No comments